Select Page

Hello, and welcome to my little space on the world wide web.  One of my goals for 2017 is to do better about connecting with y’all.  I use Instagram pretty regularly and I do alright with Pinterest; but I fail miserably when it comes to Facebook, and even more so when it comes to updating this space.  I struggle with it, because really, I can’t imagine that y’all care what I’m doing in my daily life.  Although when I stop and think about it, some of my favorite handmade artists are my favorites, simply because I feel like I ‘know’ them.  I really want y’all to ‘know’ me, too.  I want you to feel like you’re buying jewelry from a friend, rather than a stranger on the internet.  So, heres to checking goals off my list and letting y’all see inside my life a little bit more.  I suppose it’s time to get started!

My name is Marty.  I’m a thirtysomething wife and momma.  I currently call the United Kingdom home, but I grew up in the Midwest.  I start each day with black coffee and my prayer journal.  I love to travel, I’m crazy about animals (especially dogs!), creating stuff makes me happy, and cooking is one of my favorite things to do.  I try to garden, I’m learning how amazing essential oils are, and I watch The Golden Girls daily.  I always thought that Kindles were ridiculous…then I got one for Christmas and I’m crazy about it.  I don’t go a day without listening to some kind of music.  Eddie Vedder gives me all the heart eyes, and I’m not just talking about his face.  I’m pretty sure when I get to Heaven and God speaks, He’s going to sound just like Ed.  If you disagree, please, don’t tell me.

I’ve been making jewelry for as long as I can remember.  Beaded necklaces (complete with fishing swivel clasps…seriously) and friendship bracelets were some of my very first pieces of work.  In my heart I always knew a ‘typical job’ wasn’t in the cards for me.  I knew I’d have to do something where I could use my imagination and be my own boss.  My Silver Pie has been just that!  It’s the perfect place for me to make things, constantly try new ideas and techniques, move all over the place, and still be at home and present with my girl and my guy.

My husband and I been married for over a decade and life with him is a crazy-awesome adventure.  He’s tall and loves to be the center of attention.  That last part is entirely untrue.  He likes for his part of our story to be a mystery.  I’ll oblige him, but for my trouble, I’m going to refer to him as ‘Annie’ in this space.

Our little lady, Bri, is 12.  She’s our one and only.  We’ve been homeschooling since she was in first grade.  She and I spend our days doing school, watching The Price Is Right, crafting, playing in the garden, drinking tea at the cafe across the street, eating Indian takeaway, and playing with our two dogs, Rylee and Rosabelle.  When she’s hanging out with dad, it’s all things Marvel, Star Wars, laser tag, video games, Harry Potter, nerf guns, and John Wayne.  Between the two of us, she’s a pretty well rounded girl.  She is a member of our local swim club and she also dances twice a week.  Needless to say, she’s a busy gal.

Alright, I think that about does it for me and my family.  That’s us, and honestly, I can’t imagine that we’re that different from you and your family.  I’m going to work really hard about staying active here and posting regularly.  By the end of the year, you’ll be sick of us!

Cheers, friends!